Log In

Reset Password

Four City Council seats open for upcoming municipal election

Four City Council seats are up for election in April. (Journal file photo)
The election of these seats will take place on April 2

Four Cortez City Council seats are available in the upcoming municipal election on April 2. Nomination packets are available at City Hall, and packets became available on Jan. 2.

The election will fill the four seats that are up for term, and the election winners will take office April 23.

Three seats will be for four-year terms, and one will be for two years.

The seats that are up for election are held by Mayor Rachel Medina and Mayor Pro-tem Arlina Yazzie, both of whom were elected in 2020 for four-year terms. The other seats are held by Councilor Robert Dobry, who was elected in 2022 for a two-year term, and Councilor David Rainy, who was also elected in 2020.

Newly elected councilors will join Mathew Keefauver, Lydia DeHaven and Dennis Spruell, all elected in 2022 for four-year terms.

Petitions and Certificate of nomination forms can be picked up at the City Clerk’s office at 123 Roger Smith Ave. in Cortez between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Completed certificates and petitions must be filed in the City Clerk’s office no later than 5 p.m. Monday, Jan. 22.

For information, contact the City Clerk’s office at 970-564-4008 or email lsmith@cortezco.gov.

Other election information can be found online at www.cortezco.gov/248/9267/Elections.