Log In

Reset Password

Ute Mountain Roundup closes with big crowd and payout

Ute Mountain Roundup rodeo on Thursday night at the Montezuma County Fairgrounds.
World champion Stetson Wright is big winner

The final Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association performance of the Ute Mountain Roundup wrapped up Saturday night with notable performances in tie-down roping and barrel racing, and world champion Stetson Wright earned the lion’s share of the purse.

“Rodeo fans witnessed some of the most talented animal athletes on dirt and many valiant attempts to win the 2022 UMR champion titles and a piece of the $65,048 total payout,” said a news release from Madelaine Gaskey.

Stetson Wright rides Big Papa on Thursday night during the Ute Mountain Roundup rodeo at the Montezuma County Fairgrounds.
Leia Pluemer competes in barrel racing on Thursday night.
Kim Schulze competes in the barrel racing Friday night.
Keenan Hayes competes and wins in bareback riding Thursday night.
Brooks Dahozy and Seth Hall compete in team roping on Thursday night.
Josh Jennings flips his calf over in tie-down roping Thursday night.
Kyle Charley competes in bareback riding on Thursday night.
Shawn Perkins competes in bareback riding on Thursday night.
Jace Logan of Yampa, Colorado, competes in steer wrestling Thursday night.

One of Saturday’s notable runs included tie-down roper Wade Shane Hatch of Kirtland, New Mexico. Hatch, 20, grew up competing in rodeo. His father, Shane hatch, roped professionally before becoming a livestock auctioneer. And though the Ute Mountain Roundup was Wade Hatch’s third professional rodeo, he roped his way into the money with a second-place finish, 12.7-second run.

Josh Jennings of Glendale, Utah, was first, with an 11.8-second run.

“Barrel racer Kim Schulze celebrated her birthday with a nice check as well,” Gaskey said.

Schulze completed the cloverleaf pattern in 17.41 seconds, only 0.04 second behind 2022 UMR Barrel Racing Champion Leia Pluemer.

“My mare is back,” exclaimed Schulze after mentioning that she has spent much of the winter season working to make sure her horse was in top health.

Zane Munoz was the all-around cowboy with a second-place finish in saddle bronc riding and a seventh-place finish in tie-down roping.

But the biggest winner was reigning all-around world champion Stetson Wright. He was the only bull rider to ride the full 8 seconds, and per PRCA rules, will win not only a first-place check, but also the “ground money.”

Ground money is paid out after too few contestants qualify for the number of places to be paid out, Gaskey said. The remaining places are then divided evenly among those contestants who did qualify. In Wright’s case, all the ground money can be counted toward his current first place world standings, which gives him an edge as he heads into the summer rodeo season.

“I really want to thank the committee for having us,” said Wright. “I just had to focus on staying centered and making it to 8 (seconds) and I am sure glad I did!”

This year’s Ute Mountain Roundup featured a new stock contractor, Powder River Rodeo of Riverton, Wyoming.

“The stock helped play a role in the stock contractor, which played a role in the high scores and arena records that were set, as well as crowning new 2022 champions,” Gaskey said.

Final results

All-around cowboy: Zane Munoz, $1,918, saddle bronc riding and tie-down roping.

Bareback riding: 1. Keenan Hayes, 84.5 points on Powder River Rodeo's Raspberry Tea, $1,567; 2. Waylon Bourgeois, 80.5, $1,187; 3. Shawn Perkins, 78.5, $854; 4. Mitchell Parham, 77, $570; 5. Tristan Hansen, 76.5, $332; 6. Kade Sonnier, 75, $237.

Steer wrestling: 1. Kalane Anders, 4.1 seconds, $2,017; 2. Trey Nahrgang, 4.4, $1,669; 3. (tie) Logan Kenline and Jace Logan, 4.8, $1,148 each; 5. Rooster Yazzie, 5.1, $626; 6. Justin Simon, 5.3, $348.

Team roping: 1. Brooks Dahozy/Seth Hall, 5.8 seconds, $2,638 each; 2. Derrick Begay/Trey Yates, 5.9, $2,294; 3. (tie) Tanner Pallesen/Arye Espenscheid and Erich Rogers/Trevor Nowlin, 6.1, $1,778 each; 5. Howard Hutchings/Scotty Lauaki, 6.4, $1,261; 6. Wyatt Lacey/Tye Reddell, 6.5, $917; 7. (tie) Chaz Kananen/Colby Siddoway and Cody Snow/Wesley Thorp, 6.6, $401 each.

Saddle bronc riding: 1. Isaac Richard, 87 points on Powder River Rodeo's Good Lord Lori, $1,898; 2. Zane Munoz, 84.5, $1,455; 3. Clayson Hutchings, 83, $1,075; 4. (tie) Ryder Sanford and Brody Wells, 82.5, $569 each; 6. (tie) Ross Griffin and Joe Priebe, 79.5, $285 each; 8. (tie) Tyler Beebe, Creighton Curley and Q Taylor, 79, $63 each.

Tie-down roping: 1. Josh Jennings, 11.8 seconds, $2,130; 2. Wade Hatch, 12.7, $1,852; 3. (tie) Zack Ekstrom and Clint Robinson, 12.8, $1,435 each; 5. Wyatt Uptain, 13.7, $1,018; 6. Cason Kingsbury, 13.8, $741; 7. Zane Munoz, 14.7, $463; 8. Pryce Harris, 15.3, $185.

Barrel racing: 1. Leia Pluemer, 17.37 seconds, $1,784; 2. Kim Schulze, 17.41, $1,530; 3. Kelly Yates, 17.55, $1,275; 4. Kaitlin Schuck, 17.64, $1,105; 5. Christina Gould, 17.70, $850; 6. Tara Seaton, 17.72, $680; 7. Kassidy Dennison, 17.82, $510; 8. Andrea Busby, 17.85, $340; 9. Kailee Murdock, 17.87, $255; 10. Jamalie Holzer, 17.97, $170.

Bull riding: 1. Stetson Dell Wright, 85 points on Powder River Rodeo's Big Papa, $6,797; no other qualified rides. His total amount includes ground money.

Total payoff: $66,148.

Stock contractor: Powder River Rodeo.

Official: J.R. Clark.

Bullfighter: J.D. Harrell.

Flankman: John Franzen.

Pickup man: Jay Shaw.