Log In

Reset Password

Ute Mountain Ute tribe announces candidates for chairman and council

The Ute Mountain Ute tribe will hold an election on Oct. 14. (Journal file)
Six candidates running for chairman; 14 running for two council seats

Candidates have been announced for the Ute Mountain Ute election Oct. 14 in Towaoc.

The election is for tribal chairman and for three seats on the Tribal Council, including the White Mesa seat. Terms are for three years.

Terms are up for Chairman Manuel Heart, Vice Chairman Archie House Jr., Councilman Darwin Whiteman Jr. and Councilman Malcolm Lehi, representing White Mesa.

Six candidates are running for tribal chairman. They are Regina Lopez-Whiteskunk, Angelita Berry, Manuel Heart, Davis Wing, Harold Cuthair and Selwyn Whiteskunk.

Fourteen 14 candidates running for the two open council seats representing the Colorado reservation, based in Towaoc.

They are Mark Wing, Archie House Jr., Kenneth Bancroft, Quinton Jacket, Helen Munoz, Priscilla Blackhawk, Darwin Whiteman Jr., Myron Cuthair, Leland Collins Sr., Conrad Jacket, Adrian Laner Sr., Colleen Cuthair-Root, Prisllena Nightstar and Jacalyn Colorow.

The two candidates for council seat representing the White Mesa, Utah tribal community are Malcolm Lehi and Suzette Morris.

Election voting is open to all enrolled tribal members age 18 and up. Voters must have a current ID at the polling place, the Community Center in Towaoc. Polls are open 7 a.m. to 1 p.m.

All enrolled members living off the reservation who would like to vote must request an official notarized absentee ballot. Contact the election board at (970) 564-5635 ext. 659.

The Ute Mountain Election Committee is seeking two alternates for White Mesa, and one alternate for Towoac. Letters of interest are due to Executive Director John Trocheck by Aug. 31.