Log In

Reset Password

Twelve sophomores inducted into Mancos National Honor Society chapter

Based on scholarship, service, leadership, character

Twelve Mancos sophomores were inducted into the Cyril Conway chapter of the National Honor Society on May 14.

According to an email Tuesday from faculty adviser Adyan Farrar, students with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher by the second semester of their sophomore year are eligible to apply for membership.

Then they are interviewed by a faculty committee and chosen based on the four pillars of the National Honor Society: scholarship, service, leadership and character.

National Honor Society members in Mancos belong to the Cyril Conway chapter. Conway was a former Mancos superintendent.

Chapter President Jake McKie, vice president Zane Wilson and secretary Caleb Yoder spoke at the induction ceremony, according to Farrar. Other members include seniors Raul Calderon-Ortiz and Roan Russel and juniors Taeylor Samora and Ericka Peacock.

“Each year, NHS hosts two United Blood Services blood drives and a fundraiser for the Lymphoma and Leukemia Society,” Farrar wrote. “Next year, we hope to add a Christmas toy drive and other community service projects.”

The 12 inducted sophomores are Emmalee Asnicar, Talissa Bahr, John Lund, Mikaela Moores, Elizabeth Mykytiuk, Maya Powell, Andrew Ruatti, Andrea Sena, Caden Showalter, Hakayla Snow, Kasey Wallace and Adam Yoder.

May 24, 2018
Cortez students receive Ronald R. Schneider Memorial Scholarship