Log In

Reset Password

Dolores School Board swears in two new directors

New directors receive titles of vice president, treasurer
Former board president Linnea Vass swears in Kay Phelps and Casey McClellan to the Dolores School Board.

Two new members were sworn on the Dolores School Board on Monday night.

Casey McClellan and Kay Phelps both won their new seats on the board in the Nov. 7 election.

“It feels great. I am happy to be here for the benefit of these guys (his own children) and everyone else’s kids,” McClellan said.

In addition, new board officers were appointed.

Deanna Prock was voted as the new board president by a unanimous voice vote.

New board member Kay Phelps was appointed as vice president.

“I am ecstatic,” Phelps said. “I love Dolores, and I have mentioned before that I started my teaching here. ... I love this community, and people have asked me why I am here, and it is just because I respect the people, the staff, the faculty and the community.”

McClellan was appointed board treasurer.

The board voted to keep Deanna Truelsen as the board secretary.

The audience and board congratulated Linnea Vass for her 10 years of service to the board.

“Thanks for your service, and we look forward to you being in the crowd to give us a hard time,” Superintendent Scott Cooper joked to laughter and applause.

The special board meeting was adjourned at 6:19 p.m.

Nov 17, 2017
Schools update prevention policies in light of recent teen suicides
Nov 12, 2017
Dolores School Board approves architect for health clinic
Nov 8, 2017
Phelps, McClellan elected to Dolores school board