Log In

Reset Password

Dean Hanson scholarship application open for 2024

The 2023 Dean Hanson Scholarship winners.(Courtesy Four Corners Board of Realtors)
The application deadline is April 15

Applications for the 2024 Four Corners Board of Realtors Dean Hanson Memorial Scholarship are being accepted with an deadline of April 15.

The scholarship can be awarded to traditional and nontraditional students who hope to extend their education on to an institution of higher education, regardless of their year of enrollment. Students can be residents of Montezuma and Dolores counties.

According to the board, students are selected based on scholarship, leadership and financial need.

Applications must be mailed or turned into the Four Corners Board of Realtors at 350 W. Montezuma Ave., Suite A, in Cortez or emailed to the fourcornersboard@gmail.com. Applications can also be dropped off at the student’s school counselor’s office.

Questions can be addressed by calling (970) 565-0112.

Applications are available at the counselor’s office in the high schools in Montezuma and Dolores counties or at the Four Corners Board of Realtors office, by email or on their website, fourcornersboardofrealtors.com.

Last year’s winners were Gabriel Crowley of Montezuma-Cortez High School, Izabella Balfour of Montezuma-Cortez High School, Alexa Gray of Dove Creek High School, Cole Taber of Dove Creek High School, Taylor LaRose of Dolores High School, Riley Cannon of Mancos High School, Gregory Greenlee of Mancos High School, Makayla Wayman of Nontraditional Mancos High School, Andres Moreno of Nontraditional Mancos High School, Talissa Bahr of Nontraditional Mancos High School, Destiny John of Nontraditional M-CHS and Ivana Kibel of Nontraditional M-CHS.

All 12 students are attending college, according to Denise Unrein, of Four Corners Board of Realtors Association.

Students are permitted to apply for the scholarship throughout all four years of their college journey, and many students are awarded the scholarship multiple years in a row, not just the first year they are awarded.

Last year’s winners who have received the scholarship more than once are Wayman, Colorado Mesa University; Moreno, the University of New Mexico; Bahr, Fort Lewis College; John and Kibel, Pueblo Community College Southwest.