Log In

Reset Password

Champions crowned last weekend at Aztec Speedway

Racing season winding down as seasonal and state champions named
Julian Garcia, driving the No. 90 car, races to victory in the Modified featured event Sept. 16 at Aztec Speedway. (Bill Dutton/Special to the Tri-City Record)

AZTEC – The final weekend of the regular season has ended at Aztec Speedway, and while seasonal champions were crowned, there were also a host of weekend winners.

On the Friday night program, Hunter Ferrell claimed the checkered flag in the Hobby Stock division. He was followed by John Thomas, Kyler Duggins, Mylee JoAnn, Mark Weber and Michael Bray.

Camron Spangler took the checkered flag in the Northern Sportmod Division and was followed by Julie Keeler, Rayce Green, Waylon Hale and John Patterson. Katie Barthel finished first in the Sport Compact Division, ahead of Cody Witcher, Ted Neergaard, Jesse Stuckman, Abbi Barthel and Jon Kinder.

Shane DeVilbiss again found the checkers in the Dwarf/Modlite division, beating Rafe O’Brien, Gabe and Leon Shim, Joe Esquibel and Derrick Pyeatt. Jeramy Hughes moved up five spots to take the win in the Stock Car Division followed by Steffan Carey, Eric Loyd, Darell Cordary and Allen Bradley.

On Saturday night’s card, Kyler Duggins found the checkers first in the Hobby Stock class after a lap two wreck followed by Hunter Ferrell, John Thomas, Mylee JoAnn, Mark Weber and Michael Bray.

Kyler Duggins drives the 69 car to victory in the Hobby Stock feature, Friday, Aug. 18, 2023 at Aztec Speedway. (RaNai Toler)

Julie Keeler took a lap through victory lane in the Northern SportMod division, followed by Camron and Aaron Spangler, Rayce Green and Jimmy Wilson. Katie Barthel took the win in the Sport Compact division, followed by Cody Witcher, Jayden Small, Abbi Barthel and Ted Neergaard.

Shane DeVilbiss took the win in the Dwarf/Modlite division followed by Leon and Gabe Shim, Rafe O’Brien and Joe Esquibel. Steffan Carey took the win in the Stock Car class and was followed by Jeramy Hughes, Eric Loyd, Nathan Lemons and Darell Cordary.

2023 season champions were crowned at the conclusion of the Saturday night card.

Julie Keeler, Northern SportMod champion, was also named New Mexico state champion. The Hobby Stock champion is Hunter Ferrell, also taking the crown for the state, as does Katie Barthel in the Sport Compact division. Barthel is sitting third in the IMCA Lady Eagle Points.

Steffan Carey is the Stock Car champion as well as New Mexico State champion. Julian Garcia, Sr. is the Modified champ and New Mexico State Champion while Shane DeVilbiss is the Modlite Track Champion and Devon Amos is the Mini Sprint Track Champion.

Rookies of the Year were named last weekend as well. Rayce Green, Mylee JoAnn, Tyler Wilson and Ted Neergaard won titles in their respective divisions, while Matt Dossey and Gabe Shim also took home rookie titles.

Results and schedules can be found on myracepass.com. Next up is a racing program at Kart Kanyon Speedway on Saturday night.