GOP primary election is tonight

Journal Staff Report

Local Republican candidates will be picked tonight for the general election in two Montezuma County commissioner races and the district attorney for the 22nd Judicial District.

All mail-in ballots must be returned to the County Clerk’s office by 7 p.m. tonight. This year’s primary election is being conducted solely through mail-in ballot.

In the local area, only the Republican and Libertarian parties have contested races on the ballot for this election cycle. Though registered members of the Democratic Party and American Constitution Party will receive ballots, there are no contested races.

For Republican voters, Montezuma County District 2 commissioner seat candidates are Keenan Ertel, Pat DeGagne-Rule and Bud Garner. Competing in the District 3 race are Dewayne Findley and Casey McClellan.

The District Attorney’s race features incumbent DA Russell Wasley and local defense attorney Will Furse.

The local Libertarian party will also be part of the ballot, with registered Libertarians choosing a candidate for the 3rd Congressional District seat. Gaylon Kent and Gregory Gilman are the candidates.

Republican Scott Tipton currently holds the seat.

See for election results tonight.

Most Read in News








Call Us

View full site

© The Cortez Journal